Club Finals 2017

Our club competition finals were completed over the weekend of 16th and 17th September with most games played in dry weather. The early Saturday games saw Peter Glanville defeating Ken Foreman in the Handicap Singles, Jenny Wilton and Norma Clements defeating Kim Hadlow and Dee Maxa in the Ladies Pairs and David Wells (subbing for Dave Hoddinott) and Del Town winning the Stan Lovell 2 wood pairs against Tony Brooks and George Packer. In the afternoon David Ralph and  Dennis Cooper defeated Malcolm Buller and George Packer in the over 65 pairs,  Del Town and Peter Collins overcame the challenge of Peter Glanville and Mick Pantony in the Men’s pairs and Norma Clements retained the yardstick trophy by defeating Val Hoddinott.

On Sunday morning Peter Collins defeated Tony Brooks in the over 65 singles, Dennis Cooper defeated Malcolm Buller in the 2 wood singles and Dorothy Hegarty and Del Town retained the Mixed pairs title by defeating Dee Maxa and George Packer. The afternoon session was dedicated to both singles matches and Norma Clements won against Dee Maxa in the Ladies Championship and Dennis Cooper came from behind to beat Robert Rowe by one shot in the Men’s Championship.

Thanks go to Robert Thew who organised the competitions throughout the season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *